tausend : einerlei

16.12.2023 – 17.03.2024

The "miraculous transformation" of caterpillars fascinated the naturalist and artist Maria Sybilla Merian in the 17th century. Pia Fries' work schwarze blumen (black flowers) takes up the theme of metamorphosis.

Pia Fries: tausend : einerlei; Foto: Hans Brändli; Ausstellung KiS 16.12.24-17.03.24

Pia Fries takes an idea as the starting point for her work and embraces the unpredictable. During the artistic process, she decides how colors, shapes and empty spaces will fit together. Time and again, she is inspired by (historical) motifs that correspond to an inner pictorial vision and which she takes as the basis for artistic metamorphoses.

Such as in the sheets from tausend : einerlei, which we are showing at KiS - Kunst in Seefeld. Three illustrated books "Chinese bamboo paper production. A picture album from the 18th century" form the basis for the works created in 2021.

Pia Fries always engages in new encounters during her work phases. In 2005, for example, a copy of Maria Sibylla Merian's "Raupenbuch" (Book of Caterpillars) was the starting point for a series of works entitled "black flowers". The naturalist and artist Merian was fascinated by the transformation of caterpillars into butterflies. Pia Fries took up this metamorphosis.

Ausstellung Pia Fries tausend : einerlei, 16.12.23 - 17.3.24, Halle
Pia Fries tausend : einerlei; Ausstellung KiS - Kunst in Seefeld, 12/23 - 03/24

Too far to write down

Poems by John Yau

I, humble scribe of clouds, ask permission to make my case
While you scatter yellow clouds above open huts
Pull red brushstrokes through curtains of mountains
I watch my poems ferry fiery farewells downstream
Dream that I am in two places at once, listening
To new ghosts complain there is no room
Until the old ghosts leave their vestments for others
Hear wisps of weeping – wind gathering in mulberry trees
Become wrinkled sheet floating on empty bed
Watch smoke of victory and defeat rise into glowing sky
As moon follows its twin into marble sections of the sky
I turn into drops of ink and snow settling on this poem

Taken from From catalogue Pia Fries tausend : einerlei with poems by John Yau; Kienbaum Artists‘ Books, 2022 edition; translation: Stefan and Barbara Weidle; Snoeck;

Ausstellung Pia Fries tausend : einerlei, 16.12.23 - 17.3.24, Halle

The Father and the Art

On the occasion of the vernissage, Prof. Dr. Friedhelm Mennekes SJ gave an introduction to the work of David LaChapelle.

For many years, the art expert founded and directed the St. Peter Art Station in Cologne, a center for contemporary art and music. He has been a visiting professor of contemporary art at numerous universities and since 2021 has been "Consigliere per l'Arte Contemporanea" at the Pontifical Council for Culture. Here are some quotes from his speech:

Friedhelm Mennekes in Seefeld

David LaChapelle is an artist I didn't know like this before Rafael Jablonka asked me to open this exhibition. After dealing with him and this work I have to say: For me he is one of the great, one of the greatest artists of our time.

He was socialized as a Catholic like so many artists, for example Andy Warhol. Later, many, including LaChapelle, turned away from religion. What has remained, however, is the longing to produce images, which is inherent in Catholicism. This is exactly what David LaChapelle does, it seems as if he wanted to create the Bible itself with this cycle.

You can bring a bunch of morals with the Christian thought or just a voice at the right moment that says "you can't do that". This stops the policemen in the picture 'Intervention' from doing what they are doing.

LaChapelle does not make Catholic propaganda, but he shows people who set themselves free. They do it because they can. That's why, for me, these images are among the most grandiose of this genre.

Pia Fries

I want to learn from the picture, let myself be surprised

Pia Fries (born 1955 in Beromünster, CH) began her artistic career in Switzerland in the sculpture class of Anton Egloff. In the 1980s, she went to the Düsseldorf Art Academy, where she became a master student of Gerhard Richter. In the years that followed, she developed her own unmistakable formal language. No two work cycles by Pia Fries are the same. Or as the artist herself says: "I want to learn from the picture and be surprised."

Pia Fries' international reputation is reflected in numerous awards and professorships - until the beginning of 2023 at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich, for example. As well as in an impressive list of museums and galleries that have dedicated solo exhibitions to her work. These include Kunstpalast Düsseldorf, Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, Quadrat Bottrop, Staatliche Kunsthalle Karlsruhe, Lindenau-Museum Altenburg, Museum Kurhaus Kleve and Kunstmuseum Winterthur.

In 2023, solo exhibitions were shown at Kunsthaus Baselland, Malkasten Düsseldorf, Miles McEnery Gallery New York and Walter Storms Galerie Munich. And in 2024, Pia Fries will exhibit in Salzburg with Nikolaus Ruzicka, at the Mai 36 Gallery in Zurich and at the Josef Albers Museum Quadrat Bottrop.

Pia Fries; Foto: Hans Brändli

You have
questions?
Contact us
here

Review

David LaChapelle - Jesus Is My Homeboy


David LaChapelle

Jesus is My Homeboy

23.06.2023 - 01.10.2023

More
Ausstellung "Liebe und Blamage" von Sarah Bogner bei KiS - Kunst in Seefeld, Bild: Kleine Liebe und Blamage", @kunstdokumentationcom


Sarah Bogner

Love and Embarrassment

December 2022 - March 2023

More
Ausstellung von Andy Warhol in Seefeld


Andy Warhol

Ten Portraits of Jews of the 20th Century

March 2022 - September 2022

More
Ausstellung von Miquel Barceló in Seefeld


Miquel Barceló

The animal in you

December 2021 - March 2022

More

Go to past
exhibitions

Pia Fries

tausend : einerlei

16.12.2023 – 17.03.2024

Die “wunderbare Verwandlung” der Raupen faszinierte die Naturforscherin und Künstlerin Maria Sybilla Merian im 17. Jahrhundert. Pia Fries’ Werk schwarze blumen greift das Thema der Metamorphose auf.

Pia Fries: tausend : einerlei; Foto: Hans Brändli; Ausstellung KiS 16.12.24-17.03.24

Pia Fries nimmt eine Idee als Ausgangspunkt des Schaffens und lässt sich auf das Unberechenbare ein. Während des künstlerischen Prozesses entscheidet sich, wie sich Farben, Formen und Leerflächen zueinander fügen. Immer wieder lässt sie sich von (historischen) Motiven inspirieren, die einer inneren Bildvorstellung entsprechen und die sie als Basis für künstlerische Metamorphosen nimmt.

Wie etwa in den Blättern von tausend : einerlei, die wir bei KiS – Kunst in Seefeld zeigen. Drei Bildbände „Chinesische Bambuspapierherstellung. Ein Bilderalbum aus dem 18. Jahrhundert“ bilden die Grundlage für die Arbeiten, die 2021 entstanden sind.

In ihren Werkphasen lässt sich Pia Fries stets auf neue Begegnungen ein. So war 2005 ein Exemplar von Maria Sibylla Merians „Raupenbuch“ Ausgangspunkt für eine Werkserie mit dem Titel „schwarze blumen“. Die Naturforscherin und Künstlerin Merian war fasziniert von der Verwandlung von Raupen in Schmetterlinge. Diese Metamorphose griff Pia Fries auf.

Ausstellung Pia Fries tausend : einerlei, 16.12.23 - 17.3.24, Halle
Pia Fries tausend : einerlei; Ausstellung KiS - Kunst in Seefeld, 12/23 - 03/24

Zu weit zum Aufschreiben

Gedichte von John Yau

Ich, ergebener Wolkenschreiber, bitte um Erlaubnis, meine These vorzutragen
Während du gelbe Wolken über offnen Hütten verstreust
Rote Pinselstriche durch Gebirgsvorhänge ziehst
Schau ich flußab meinen Gedichten nach, die lodernde Lebwohls liefern
Träume, ich wär an zwei Orten zugleich, lauschte
Neuen Geistern, die über Platzmangel maulen
Bis die alten Geister ihre Hüllen für andre dalassen
Höre Seufzer schluchzen – Wind fängt sich in Maulbeerbäumen
Werde zum zerknüllten Laken auf leerem Bett
Sehe Rauch von Sieg und Niederlage in den Feuerhimmel steigen
Wo der Mond seinem Zwilling in Marmorregionen des Firmaments folgt
Ich tropfe als Tusche und Schnee auf dieses Gedicht

Entnommen Katalog Pia Fries tausend : einerlei mit Gedichten von John Yau; Kienbaum Artists‘ Books, 2022 Edition; Übersetzung: Stefan and Barbara Weidle; Snoeck;

Ausstellung Pia Fries tausend : einerlei, 16.12.23 - 17.3.24, Halle

Der Pater und die Kunst

Anlässlich der Vernissage gab Prof. Dr. Friedhelm Mennekes SJ eine Einführung ins Werk von David LaChapelle.

Der Kunstexperte gründete und leitete jahrelang die Kunst-Station St. Peter in Köln, ein Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst und Musik. Er war Gastprofessor für zeitgenössische Kunst an zahlreichen Universitäten und ist seit 2021 „Consigliere per l’Arte Contemporanea“ beim päpstlichen Rat für Kultur. Hier einige Zitate aus seiner Rede:

Friedhelm Mennekes in Seefeld

David LaChapelle ist ein Künstler, den ich so nicht kannte, bevor Rafael Jablonka mich fragte, ob ich diese Ausstellung eröffnen möchte. Nach der Beschäftigung mit ihm und diesem Werk muss ich sagen: Für mich ist er einer der großen, einer der größten Künstler unserer Zeit.

Er wurde katholisch sozialisiert wie so viele Künstler, zum Beispiel Andy Warhol. Später wandten sich dann viele, auch LaChapelle, von der Religion ab. Geblieben ist aber die Sehnsucht Bilder zu produzieren, die dem Katholizismus eigen ist. Genau das tut David LaChapelle, es scheint, als ob er mit diesem Zyklus die Bibel selbst gestalten wollte.

Man kann mit dem christlichen Gedanken einen Haufen Moral bringen oder einfach eine Stimme im rechten Augenblick, die sagt „das kannst du nicht machen“. Das hält die Polizisten im Bild ‚Intervention‘ von ihrem Tun ab.

LaChapelle macht keine katholische Propaganda, sondern er zeigt Menschen, die sich selbst in die Freiheit setzen. Sie tun es, weil sie es können. Deshalb gehören für mich diese Bilder zu den grandiosesten dieses Genres.

Pia Fries

Ich will vom Bild lernen, mich überraschen lassen

Begonnen hat Pia Fries (geb. 1955 in Beromünster, CH) ihre künstlerische Laufbahn in der Schweiz, und zwar in der Fachklasse für Bildhauerei bei Anton Egloff. In den 80er Jahren ging sie an die Kunstakademie Düsseldorf,  wurde dort Meisterschülerin von Gerhard Richter. In den darauf folgenden Jahren entwickelte sie ihre eigene unverkennbare Formensprache. Kein Werkzyklus von Pia Fries gleicht dem anderen. Oder wie die Künstlerin selbst sagt: „Ich will vom Bild lernen und mich überraschen lassen.“

Das internationale Renommee von Pia Fries zeigt sich in zahlreichen Auszeichnungen und Professuren – bis Anfang 2023 etwa an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München. Sowie in einer beeindruckenden Liste von Museen und Galerien, die ihren Werken Einzelausstellungen widmeten. Darunter Kunstpalast Düsseldorf, Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, Quadrat Bottrop, Staatliche Kunsthalle Karlsruhe, Lindenau-Museum Altenburg, Museum Kurhaus Kleve oder Kunstmuseum Winterthur.

In Kunsthaus Baselland, Malkasten Düsseldorf, in der Miles McEnery Gallery New York und der Walter Storms Galerie München waren 2023 Einzelausstellungen zu sehen. Und 2024 wird Pia Fries in Salzburg bei Nikolaus Ruzicka, in der Mai 36 Galerie in Zürich sowie im Josef Albers Museum Quadrat Bottrop ausstellen.

Pia Fries; Foto: Hans Brändli

Rückblick

Jesus is My Homeboy

23.06.2023 – 01.10.2023

Liebe und Blamage

Dezember 2022 – März 2023

Ten Portraits of Jews of the 20th Century

März 2022 – September 2022

Das Tier in Dir

Dezember 2021 – März 2022